Benny's Adventures

in Life: Grocery Shopping and Bathroom Cleaning

Life in an apartment has been interesting. In staying at this place over the summer doing research I’ve gone through some experiences that I haven’t had to pay attention to before very much: grocery shopping and bathroom cleaning. Granted they were there before but just didn’t become notable until now.

Going to Kroger was a daunting experience. All those isles of ingredients that could potentially become something deliciously edible if only the right combination of procedures was applied to it. Holy cow, where to start? Having no guidance I had no idea. But I’ve decided that when I go home for the last 5 weeks of this summer I will learn to cook at home with my mother.

Today I also spent some time cleaning the bathroom. I probably should have done it much earlier but I was lazy. I got the necessary material from Kroger, however and spent about an hour cleaning. Having had previous experience this wasn’t so bad, but dorm life didn’t require me to do this. In the apartment I don’t have Resident Life and Housing Services staff cleaning the bathrooms every day. I do have one thing in my favor – I like to clean! Cleaning the bathroom was thus not a bad experience and now my bathroom is much cleaner!

I made a vow to myself today that I will become much more adept at mundane things like grocery shopping, cooking, and so on.

We’ll see how that goes.

27 June 2010 - Posted by | Life | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Kroger’s can be overwhelming (they are called “Fry’s” here in AZ, but sell Kroger brands). I still feel that way, and I’m 44 years old! So many choices…. Here’s Tip #1: never go grocery shopping when you’re hungry.

    Cleaning the bathroom is one of those things that isn’t too bad if you don’t let it go too long. Also helps if it’s your bathroom, and ONLY yours! I try to do incremental cleanings 2 – 3x week (everything excluding the toilet, that is).

    Tip#2: hydrogen peroxide, white vinegar and hot water. The combine into a very effective, low cost cleaning solution, much cheaper than most regular cleaning stuff, and don’t reek or have toxic fumes. Plus it is fun to listen and watch the hydrogen peroxide get bubbly!

    Directions: Mix 1 part hydro peroxide with 2 parts white vinegar and then add hot water. For one bathroom, including sink and tub, I’d scale that as 1/4 cup hydro peroxide, 1/2 cup vinegar (Heinz’s is VERY cheap) and 2 cups hot water. Stir it up, and you can add some soap too. When finished, you can pour what remains in the toilet and let it soak for an hour or so. But ONLY if you’re sure you haven’t used anything with bleach to clean the toilet recently! I never believed that I would see noxious vapors rising out of the toilet bowl water until my unintentional Chlorox bleach mashup!

    I’m glad you realize that it’s important to get some cooking ideas from your mother later in the summer. She has years of experience that you can benefit from! Good luck, and make sure to write about how things are going!

    Comment by Ellie K | 29 June 2010 | Reply

  2. […] time to scan my old posts to find loose ends I haven’t addressed. In the process I encountered a post I created while researching over summer and staying in an apartment near campus. I was struck […]

    Pingback by Hindsight on the Lifestyle Shift from College to the "Real World" « Benny's Adventures | 13 July 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

