Benny's Adventures

in Life: Bad Habit Withdrawal?

Withdrawal is generally described as feeling worse and worse until hitting a plateau after which symptoms dissipate.

I don’t think I could physically be dependent on any of my bad habits but it seems plausible that my body adjusted to my sleep cycle and is having a very difficult time adjusting back to a more normal one, for example. What I’ve been facing in the last few days is the culmination of a week of discomfort in which though I went to bed at 11pm, I would either get up at 3am and be unable to sleep only to crash and want to pass out in bed at about 11am or if I slept all night it would not be a restful sleep. I’d still want to pass out at 11am. Clearly I have some issues to work out and part of it is that I’ve gotten myself used to sleeping strangely to the point that my body thinks a more normal sleep schedule is abhorrent and doesn’t want to follow it.

I’ve been having trouble eating well too. Though for about a week I was able to essentially force myself onto a normal eating schedule I can’t seem to keep it up.

Perhaps I’m just losing the discipline that I’m doing my best to develop? That’d be unfortunate. Regardless, since I’m aware that this is happening I should do everything I can to make sure I continue to work hard at my new commitments and hopefully it will get easier with time and practice.

I also hope that going home will provide some respite that will aid in my recuperation and reinvigoration.

14 July 2010 - Posted by | Life | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

