Benny's Adventures

in Blogging: Following Up, Week of August 8, 2010

This will be a new weekly installment on my blog. I’ll do my best to follow up on any stories I may have commented on (if I’m able to) and respond to any comments I receive here. I think it’ll help my own follow-through with things and also provide some people more information on something they’re interested in. Thanks Allie for giving me the idea! If you’ve got any follow-up requests send them my way and I will look into it.
  • To Ellie’s comment on the hydrogen harvesting bacteria post asking if I’ve continued cooking and if I’m home: Yes, I’m back home from the summer apartment. I will be moving back in to my dorms in about a week and a half. Unfortunately I haven’t done much more cooking, but I have done a lot of other things. Mainly I’ve de-stressed and de-cluttered my life and started studying for the GRE. Still, I will be trying at least a few more times.
  • Following up on Blizzard’s attempt to mandate real name disclosure on their forums: Blizzard has implemented a Real ID system but made it optional. This seems like a tenuous compromise between anonymity and full accountability but the fact that it’s optional makes it pretty decent I think. Oddly enough upon further inspection, it seems the Real ID system was optional from the beginning. I’m startin’ to think that this whole hullabaloo was just another over-reaction by the collective entity known as “the Internet.” It’s probably the only downside of such an open and free communications platform – a lot of people who are unsuitable for mature debates, rational thought, and appropriate responses to changes are allowed to contribute.
  • Related material on the sumo wrestling GIF I found: I think this speaks for itself:

That’s all I have for now. Like I said before if you want something in particular looked at again or if you have questions let me know.

13 August 2010 - Posted by | Blogging

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

