Benny's Adventures

Google TV? Meh.

google-tv-logo-1-e1282154624777My first response when I heard about Google TV was expecting to see another website like YouTube or Hulu. However I finally decided to investigate a bit and see what the buzz on Google News’ Sci./Tech. page was. First I checked out Google TV’s blog and read some blurbs from the development project manager. One paragraph goes like this:

One of our goals with Google TV is to finally open up the living room and enable new innovation from content creators, programmers, developers and advertisers. By bringing Google Chrome and access to the entire Internet, you can easily navigate to thousands of websites to watch your favorite web videos, play Flash games, view photos, read movie reviews or chat with friends—all on the big screen.

At first it seems just like turning the living room TV into a computer. Then I realized that it was.

It could be that I’m predominantly archaic in my thinking because I grew up right as computers were becoming ubiquitous and I don’t think that everything should have access to everything that a computer can. I think however that I have reasonable evidence that I can accept innovations. For example, take the Xbox Live features added over the years. When social elements were added on top of the basic matchmaking functionality in the original Xbox’s Live system that was a step forward. When Xbox Live added Facebook integration I was not enthused. Similarly I don’t particularly feel the need for a browser on my TV especially when I already have a desktop, a laptop, a phone with internet access, and the potential to have an iPad, an iPod touch, and more devices all with internet access.

Furthermore let’s think about what consequences this could have. Browsers crash. I do not want my TV to crash. I don’t want to ever have to reboot my TV especially if I’m right in the middle of a show I love. I don’t want to worry about viruses or malware on my TV. If we’re starting turning objects into computers the drawbacks will be there as well as the benefits. I can understand that Google is seeking another way to make money. But is anyone else just not excited that everything around them is turning into a computer?

I can’t wait for the day when urinals are connected to the web so while you’re peeing you can check your e-mail.

7 October 2010 - Posted by | Internet, Television | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

