Benny's Adventures

A Blogger’s Dilemma

blank post entry

Every time I set out to write a blog post I run into a problem. What is my post worth?

Sometimes I find something interesting and want to share it. Would it be worthwhile though? Won’t my readers just get it from somewhere else? Who am I to think that my little blog is the one that’ll introduce a reader to something interesting when they have so many other resources?

Then there are the times I have the inspiration to create a post entirely of my own thought and I question the value people would get from it. Perhaps my epitomes are old news for my readers. Perhaps it’s not relevant to them.

What’s the point in blogging then? What role do I play when I share something I’ve found, and what role do I play when I write my own thoughts down?

Oddly enough I think this post began with simply considering the option of concocting an original post or sharing something interesting I’ve found. The process of writing transformed the idea from something mundane to philosophical questioning of my own worth as a blogger.

Either way I think it’s interesting – and I’ll continue to post things I find as well as my own thoughts because whatever the meta-blog-ical value is, I’d still like to create a successful blog that I can eventually make some money off of.

16 December 2010 - Posted by | Blogging, Internet | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] I questioned the value of my posts. Even more fundamental is my reason for blogging. There are a lot of reasons for people […]

    Pingback by Why do I blog? « Benny's Adventures | 16 December 2010 | Reply

  2. […] not foreign for me to contemplate the role blogging plays in my life. The allure of gaining Internet fame is ever-present but as a man understanding […]

    Pingback by A Post a Day Keeps the Doctor Away « Benny's Adventures | 1 July 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

