Benny's Adventures

Syncing Saved Games With Windows Live Mesh

live mesh game sync 1

Windows Live Mesh offers a service much like Dropbox and in fact I use both. Steam Cloud also offers a service like this for game saves. HOWEVER there are games (including a lot of Steam games!) that do not sync. Normally this wouldn’t be a problem but I recently had the unfortunate situation of being away from my gaming desktop. To be specific, I took the free time afforded to me by spring break to play Dark Messiah of Might and Magic on my laptop. Now that I’m back in my room I’d like to play it on my desktop but I realized I don’t have the save files!

This is where Windows Live Mesh comes into play. I’m sure I could have used Dropbox as well but for this particular case Windows Live Mesh worked out easier for me. Now my game saves have been transferred and now I can pick up where I left off at home on break on my desktop! I’m really happy for that.

For those of you interested, here’s how to do it:

1) On the first computer, open Windows Live Mesh and select “Sync a folder”

live mesh game sync 2

2) Navigate to your folder with the save files and select it. When asked for which devices to sync the folder to, DO NOT SELECT ANYTHING!

3) Now fire up Windows Live Mesh on the computer you want to sync the files to. Here you should see the folder that you added to Windows Live Mesh on the first computer. Select “Sync this folder” and navigate to where the game files would be saved. Select it, hit sync, and you’re good to go! In a few moments it should be synced and ready to go.

live mesh game sync 3

This incredibly useful for any gamer out there who plays on multiple computers and I applaud Microsoft for having such a useful tool. It’s such a shame that this is not more publicized!

 

If you try this, let me know how it goes! And if you find any other cool applications of Windows Live Mesh, I’d be more than happy to hear about it!

9 March 2011 - Posted by | Gaming | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and detailed information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Comment by Cabluri | 8 April 2011 | Reply

  2. Dropbox is better then Windows Live Mesh 🙂

    Comment by D_pole86 | 20 March 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

