Benny's Adventures

Dorm Life vs. Apartment Life

kitchen4vs. dorm

Still fresh out of college and learning about the ways of the “real world” one of the biggest transitions is from dorm life to apartment life. After living a few weeks in an apartment I think I can safely say that even with the benefits of an apartment I’d take dorm life any day.

The biggest reason for preferring dorm life is probably because I’m very low key in terms of space. I knew people that filled up apartments even in college and I also knew people who had nearly nothing. I fit in the middle somewhere and I can fit everything I need to live in a dorm room, even with a room mate! Thus one of the biggest benefits of an apartment (all the increased space) is lost on me. In fact, I’m actually apprehensive about it. If I don’t need to fill up this space… what happens when that space actually gets filled up? I don’t want to have a bunch of things I don’t need lying around.

This becomes a big reason because the benefits of dorm life outweigh the benefits of an apartment as a result. If I had needed all the space for my necessities then it’d be worth it but given my nature, I find that dorm life allows me to be more social and just have a lot more fun in general. I’m close to my friends, my bathroom and hallway cleaning is taken care of, and a lot of useful places are close to me.

Of course, as life necessitates more space an apartment will definitely come in handy. I’m sure that some day my completely empty den will have a reason to exist, but until then I really miss life back in college. There are so many memories I could not have had if I’d lived in any other style of housing. Of course I also had the luxury of it – I could afford it thanks to my wonderful parents. I also never had a terrible roommate story. I’m sure some people got scared off of dorms thanks to the worst case scenarios that they could have experienced or have heard about, but for me I didn’t have any problems.

The differences between housing is of course a small part of the bigger picture. Soon enough I’ll write up a more holistic comparison between life in college and life as a working man. And if you happen to want a much more detailed comparison between a dorm and an apartment from my perspective, let me know.

9 June 2011 - Posted by | Life | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. The apartments that I lived in while I was in college operated virtually like a dorm, except they happened to include a living room and a kitchen (and thus were perfect for me, who greatly prefers having a kitchen, and also prefers having more than just a bedroom because I tire quickly of the same environment) – but they still functioned socially similarly to a college dorm; you knew your neighbors, you went next door and hung out together very frequently: you lived life together.

    I think my point is that in comparing dorm life vs. apartment life, there’s the added layer of college v. not college, given the existence of college-y apartments. Which you hit on, although maybe not as explicitly. I miss it too in a lot of ways, I miss being able to text someone and meet up with them for dinner downstairs five minutes later, I miss running into people I know all the time and very literally living among thousands of my peers. But I also don’t think I ever let myself get super attached to it because I was very aware that social experiences like that are not at all normal for the real world and collectively add up to maybe 1/20 of the way I’ll live my life – I HAVE to prefer non-college apartment/house life because I want to enjoy that other 19/20 of my life rather than being like, ‘man that 1/20 was SO great” and thus longing for it. Really the only other time social structures like it, that I’ve seen, occur is in youth hostels around the world.

    Just some pieces of thought processes I’ve been through that strike similar chords to your post 🙂

    Comment by Cortney Evans | 9 June 2011 | Reply

  2. I would be very interested in hearing about your perspective on the difference between life in college and life as a working man, especially with regard to lifestyle options.

    Comment by James | 21 June 2012 | Reply

    • I tried to address this in my latest post (as of writing this comment). Check it out and let me know what you think!

      If I missed the direction you intended, let me know what you were thinking of and I can think upon it and write about it.

      Comment by Benny | 13 July 2012 | Reply

  3. […] I more directly compared my experience living in dorms to living in my apartment. This was from June of 2011. It’s been a year since and there is much to add to the topic. I […]

    Pingback by Hindsight on the Lifestyle Shift from College to the "Real World" « Benny's Adventures | 13 July 2012 | Reply

  4. Its like you read my mind! You seem to understand a lot approximately
    this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I think that you simply could do with a few p.c. to drive the message home a little bit,
    but other than that, that is magnificent blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Comment by Stephanie | 3 May 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

