Benny's Adventures

Salem Drivers: Get your act together!

This may be a problem common to all drivers in Virginia, or perhaps even the whole United States but it is FRUSTRATING and more importantly DANGEROUS.

STAY IN YOUR OWN LANE!

Far too often while going around blind curves have I encountered an oncoming vehicle encroaching my lane (going in the opposite direction) by a foot or so, jerking back into the proper lane at the last minute to avoid a collision.

Have you perchance seen the colorful lines on the road?:

long_road_to_nowhere

They are not there for decoration. They are not rough guidelines. They are not a waste of time.

When you see lanes marked clearly like that you stay in your own lane! I know the sky can be pretty or there’s an attractive person walking on the sidewalk or you have an important call to make but none of that justifies risking your life and the lives of others.

Listen, if you’re in my lane, there’s not much I can do short of driving off the road into a sign or a building to avoid hitting you. And I’ll be honest I don’t want to wreck my car.

I also don’t want to see you hit that truck coming around the bend because you didn’t see it and you were also halfway into the wrong lane.

Please pay attention to where you are driving and make sure you stay in your own lane. I am putting my faith in you just as you are putting your faith in me so don’t let me down. I am trusting you with my life, so this is pretty damn important.

It’s really not that hard.

1 November 2011 - Posted by | Life | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] things in this world that just piss me off, as you may have gotten a glimpse of when I ranted about drivers in Salem. To be frank at this rate a lot of my posts will probably come off as […]

    Pingback by The Weight of Uncertainty « Benny's Adventures | 16 November 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

