Benny's Adventures

Video Games on the Colbert Report

On February 3rd, the author of the book Reality is Broken, Jane McGonigal, appeared on the Colbert Report. Here is the interview:

The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Jane McGonigal
www.colbertnation.com
http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:cms:item:comedycentral.com:373360
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor & Satire Blog Video Archive

I’m not sure why the video is doing this, but if you click on the link you should be able to see it.

The majority of the interview is really good. However there is one point that I would like to contend:

Colbert: “We game to get away from the real world.”

McGonigal: “Ah, that’s another misconception…”

However I don’t think that’s a misconception at all. In fact it is the reason games exist, I believe. The connection between reality and video games is expressed much better later in the video clip where McGonigal says, “…the emotions we feel in games spill over into real life…” This is a far better point.

Aside from that little tidbit I think I can support McGonigal’s points. Judging by her interview I think getting her book more publicity would be beneficial. Thus, here is my contribution:

Product Details

17 February 2011 - Posted by | Gaming | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks for showing me this vid – McGonigal is a big-wig in the Alternative Reality Gaming community, something which I’m heavily involved in.

    Must order that book too…

    Comment by Distilled | 18 February 2011 | Reply

  2. I’ll take a look at that book myself!
    I know how emotions spill across into games, none moreso than at the end of Final Fantasy 9 and crying at the end where everybody has a happy ending. Sounds pathetic, but emotion is a key part of any game.

    Comment by Jason | 20 February 2011 | Reply

    • I don’t think it’s pathetic at all. I fully agree that emotion is a key part in any game.

      Comment by Benny | 21 February 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

