Benny's Adventures

FeedDemon for Reader!

As Google marches forward in its quest for global domination I’ve been putting forth an effort to transfer some non-essential services elsewhere. My e-mail service is not going anywhere soon but something less crucial is my Google Reader account.

After finding several services that charged for more than 20 RSS feeds I came upon FeedDemon. I think I found it through a Lifehacker post. This post also lead me to a Hive Five for feed readers (Hive Five is Lifehacker’s Top 5 contest). In this contest Google Reader garnered the most votes with FeedDemon being an admittedly distant second.

Here’s a brief synopsis of my discoveries after using FeedDemon:

Pros Cons
  • Not Google!
  • Far more features than web-based readers (such as Google Reader)
  • All viewing options (RSS post to visiting the website) in one location
  • Desktop application.
  • In my opinion, FeedDemon does not feel as “smooth” as Google Reader.
  • Synchronization is available but it is through a Google Reader account.
  • Not as convenient to access (from Gmail, for example).
  • Desktop application.
 

From this experience I’ve come to the conclusion that if you seek a single RSS reader then the key will come down to synchronization or not. With one computer and no need to sync FeedDemon easily comes out on top but when synchronization becomes an issue Google Reader is the way to go.

Some other considerations might be whether you prefer web applications versus desktop applications. This could make a difference if you are on a netbook for example. I listed it in both Pros and Cons because even for a desktop computer it can be a boon as well as an inconvenience.

Setting aside a desire to use a single feed reader FeedDemon makes it easy to enjoy the desktop experience while also being able to use the web option. I think this is a great option for those who are interested.

 

Thinking about privacy issues though I recently found an interesting predicament. When it comes to groups online (such as Google) is it better to have information spread out all over the internet or stored with a single group? That is, if I searched the web with Bing, got e-mail with Yahoo e-mail, watched videos with DailyMotion, and so on is my information better off than if I used Google for all those things (search, Gmail, YouTube, etc.)?

18 November 2010 - Posted by | Internet, Technology | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, I never knew there was a FeedDemon Reader! I use Feedburner, a Google product (Google acquired them about a year ago). I thought that Feedburner and FeedDemon were one and the same!

    Agreed, seems sensible to get some diversification, away from the Googleplex! That’s my reason for choosing a non-Google Reader.

    I’m using Adobe Reader for RSS feeds since I switched from IE8.0 to Chrome. Chrome makes feeds a lot less accessible than IE.

    I access my feeds through Adobe Reader’s Tracker utility. (Tracker also monitors Forms and Reviews). It is a very elegant user interface for feed reading.

    I tried Microsoft’s Windows Live as a comparison, since I’m on Windows 7 O/S. It worked well. Only problem was that I would forget to open my Windows Live screen for days (or weeks) since I rarely used it for other reasons. But for anyone who maintains an msn or hotmail account, Windows Live would be a fine Google Reader alternative.

    I hope your coursework is interesting and you’re having fun at school. Best wishes to you, and your mother too!
    — Ellie

    Comment by Ellie K | 30 November 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

