Benny's Adventures

Having a Tablet PC Post-School

For my studies I obtained (with the help of my generous parents) a HP TouchSmart TX2z tablet:

During school, even with all its supposed drawbacks (see here if you need some examples), this computer served me well and I took many a set of notes for class with it.

I’ve graduated now, however, and I don’t take notes anymore. What more can I do with it? I’ve tried keeping a journal with it but if I’m at a computer then the temptation to type is large, especially when you can use Notepad as a very useful, private journaling tool. I’ve tried using it as an engineering brainstorming device but it’s easier to use CAD software or pencil and paper where I can use devices like a ruler or a protractor. I’ve even tried learning to draw on it but software that can use the pressure-sensitive screen is expensive and even then the control is not as great as with say, paper and colored pencil/crayon/markers/paint/etc.

At this point I’m at a loss for what I can do with it. Maybe I should just sell it so that I can use the funds to purchase a better laptop that doesn’t have important features that I will never use. I could effectively trade the tablet capability for a laptop that can watch videos without stuttering or maybe even play games.

That sounds like a lot more work than I’m interested in at the moment though – do any of you readers out there have any idea what I can do with a Tablet PC?

27 September 2011 - Posted by | Computing, Laptops, Technology | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] since early 2010 finally died in the middle of this year. I’ve talked about this laptop twice before including one occasion where the laptop failed and HP repaired it. The same problem cropped up […]

    Pingback by Acer C710 Unboxing (Woah! I have a Chromebook now!) « Benny's Adventures | 18 October 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

